Hello! This post will be talking about camp Kirkwood, a field trip that I went to  this year. It was the second week of school and already had a 3 day 2 night sleep away camp 2 hours away from home in a city called Watha, NC.

 

I was looking forward to going to this camp mainly because of last years camp called Camp Hanes. I enjoyed Camp Hanes so much because of the zip line over the lake, the hike, and the pool so I was sure that it would be the same, just a longer experience.

So I get to school with my bags and I say my last goodbyes to my parents. I see the whole grade in the front with all their, duffle bags, suitcases, and pillowcases. I find my friend group and we just hang out with our 10 pound bags until the buses are ready and everybody arrives. The weather that day was very cloudy. We were all scared that the camp would get rained out and just be boring with no zip lining, kayaking, or V swing. But it was too late to go back now.

So now they gather the whole grade up in this little courtyard and they say whose advisory is going in which bus and fortunately, I get almost all of my friends. So we throw our bags in the back of the bus and we hop on. I try and figure out a perfect seating arrangement while they get the bus ready to go on this road-trip. Once we figure out our seating arrangement, we sit down and the bus starts to move. This road trip was 2 hours long and its hard to write about 2 hour bus ride when all you did was talk so I’m just going to skip to when we get there.

 

So once we get there, we all sit down on the basketball court and we listen to some ground rules but then it was the big moment. Cabins. I was really hoping that it would be the same as the bus. So they start announcing other cabins and once they get to our cabin. For the moment of truth… It’ll be the same as the bus! So we all rush to our cabins event though the teachers tell us to slow down because the whole camp was drenched in water. We made it to our cabin and it is the most isolated out of them all and remember it is next to a lake. But we enter the cabins, get settled, and we go to the dining hall for lunch.

I’m not gonna lie, their food was not the greatest but its not meant to be a 5 star meal. So after that I guess they wanted to do this team building thing with your group. But the problem was the group wasn’t the group from your bus, they were randomly selected. My group wasn’t bad its just I would’ve preferred to have the ones from the bus. So we did a team building game where everybody would  hold a hoola hoop with 1 finger and we would try and get in to go above our heads. I don’t know why or how, but that took around 30 minutes in the freezing cold rain which made it feel like an hour. Then we went back inside the dining haul to have a quick snack before my group learned about forest ecology how to use a compass. To end off the day we went to the pool and had dinner and went to bed.

 

The next day when we woke up we saw that it poured over night. Oh ya and remember that lake, it was up to our window. The activities we did were pool, a V swing, and kanga jump. Kanga jump is basically just a big trampoline blob and to wrap up the last full day, we made s’mores and had fun watching skits. On the final day, we started with kayaking in the big lake and our final activity was the zip line over the lake.

 

This trip was a very fun and interesting experience that I wanted to share with you. So when I made it home I took the longest shower ever because I knew it was MINE and a long nap in MY bed and watched TV on my TV.